Key dates - Section contents

Be aware of key University dates to stay on top of your enrolment, breaks, exams and other important deadlines.

January Summer Term commences Wednesday 2 January to Monday 25 February
Late re-enrolment period closes Friday 4 January
Class registration opens for Graduate and Honours subjects (Semester 1 and Year Long) Tuesday 15 January (from 10am)
Australia Day holiday (University closed) Monday 28 January
Class registration opens for Third year undergraduate subjects (Semester 1 and Year Long) Tuesday 22 January (from 10am)
Class registration opens for Second year undergraduate subjects (Semester 1 and Year Long) Thursday 24 January (from 10am)
Class registration opens for First year undergraduate subjects (90% of places in each class, Semester 1 and Year Long subjects) Thursday 31 January (from 10am)
February Summer Term exam timetable available

Monday 4 February (by 5pm)

Summer Term exams Monday 11 February to Monday 18 February
Class registration opens for First year undergraduate subjects (final 10% of places in each class, Semester 1 and Year Long subjects) Tuesday 12 February (from 10am)
Orientation Monday 18 February to Friday 1 March
March Semester 1 commences Monday 4 March
Careers Fair Tuesday 5 - Wednesday 6 March
Last date to enrol in standard Semester 1 and Year-Long subjects Friday 15 March
Employability Week Monday 18 - Friday 22 March
April Easter holiday (University closed) Friday 19 April to Tuesday 23 April
Easter non-teaching period and Universities Australia common vacation week Friday 19 April to Sunday 28 April
ANZAC Day holiday (University closed) Thursday 25 April
Graduation ceremonies Wednesday 17 April to Thursday 18 April
MayLast date to withdraw from standard Semester 1 subjects (without incurring a fail grade) Friday 10 May
Semester 1 exam timetable available Monday 13 May (by 5pm)
Semester 1 Subject Experience Survey available Monday 20 May to Sunday 9 June
JuneSWOT Vac Saturday 1 June to Friday 7 June
Winter Recess Monday 3 June to Sunday 21 July
Queen’s Birthday holiday Monday 10 June
Semester 1 exam period Tuesday 11 June to Friday 28 June Class registration
JulyClass registration opens for Graduate and Honours subjects (Semester 2)Tuesday 2 July (from 10am)
Non-teaching period and Universities Australia common vacation weekMonday 8 July to Sunday 14 July
Class registration opens for Third year undergraduate subjects (Semester 2) Tuesday 9 July (from 10am)
Class registration opens for Second year undergraduate subjects (Semester 2) Thursday 11 July (from 10am)
Class registration opens for First year undergraduate subjects (Semester 2) Tuesday 16 July (from 10am)
Semester 1 official results release date Friday 12 July
Semester 1 supplementary exam timetable available Monday 15 July (by 5pm)
Orientation Monday 15 July to Friday 26 July
Semester 1 special and supplementary exams Thursday 18 July to Thursday 25 July
Semester 2 commences (12 teaching weeks) Monday 29 July to Sunday 27 October
Graduation ceremonies Thursday 25 July to Saturday 27 July
August Last date to enrol in standard Semester 2 subjects Friday 9 August
Employability Week 12-16 August
Open Day Sunday 18 August
SeptemberLast date to withdraw from standard Semester 2 and Year-Long subjects without incurring a fail grade Friday 27 September
AFL Grand Final Day holiday Friday 27 September 
Non-teaching period and Universities Australia common vacation week Monday 30 September to Sunday 6 October
October Semester 2 exam timetable available Monday 7 October by 5.00pm
Semester 2 Subject Experience Survey is available Monday 14 October - Sunday 3 November
SWOT Vac Monday 28 October to Friday 1 November
Semester 2 Examination Period Monday 4 November to Friday 22 November
November 2020 Handbook and University timetable published To be announced
2020 re-enrolment period opens Monday 11 November
December Semester 2 official results release date Friday 6 December
Semester 2 supplementary exam timetable available Monday 9 December by 5.00pm
Semester 2 Special/supplementary examinations Thursday 12 December to Thursday 19 December
Graduation ceremonies Wednesday 11 December to Thursday 19 December
2020 timely re-enrolment period closes Wednesday 11 December

Check your census dates

The census date is the last date you can withdraw from a subject without remaining liable for the subject cost, and without it appearing on your academic statements. Census dates are different for each subject. You can review census dates by checking the subject entry in the Handbook.

Learn more about census dates