Discipline Advisers and Program Directors - Section contents

Find contact details for Program Directors and Discipline Advisers at your faculty or graduate school.

If you would like to consult with someone while planning subjects for overseas study, please book course planning appointment at Stop 1.

If, after attending an appointment, you are still seeking more subject-specific advice, we advise you contact the right person in your faculty.

  • Discipline Advisers can give advice about major, minor or diploma subject options.
  • Program Directors can give advice about breadth and non-specific elective subjects which do not lead to a major or minor.

Note: You should only contact Advisers or Directors from your faculty and department.

Discipline Advisers

MajorNameDepartmentEmail
Architecture Dr Janet Mcgaw Architecture, Building and Planning mcgawjk@unimelb.edu.au
Civil (Engineering) Systems A/Prof Guillermo Narsilio Infrastructure Engineering narsilio@unimelb.edu.au
Construction Dr Andrew Martel Architecture, Building and Planning aamartel@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Geographies, Politics and Cultures A/Prof Peter Christoff Resource Management and Geography peterac@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Science Mr Michael Keough Zoology mjkeough@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape Architecture Dr Sidh Sintusingha Architecture, Building & Planning ssint@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape Management See the Faculty of Science.
Physical (Environmental Engineering) Systems A/Prof Guillermo Narsilio Infrastructure Engineering narsilio@unimelb.edu.au
Property Dr Dermot Mcgeown Architecture, Building & Planning dmcgeown@unimelb.edu.au
Spatial Systems Mr Clifford Ogleby Spatial clogleby@unimelb.edu.auu
Urban Planning and Design Dr Derlie Mateo-Babiano Architecture, Building and Planning imateo@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Environments
A/Prof Andrew Hutson
environments-design@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Advisers

Asia Institute

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Arabic Dr Christina Mayer +61 3 9035 4223 cmayer@unimelb.edu.au
Asian Studies Dr Yasuhisa Watanabe +61 3 9035 5552 asianstudies-exchange@unimelb.edu.au
Chinese Dr Shaoming Zhou +61 3 8344 5393 shaoming@unimelb.edu.au
Indonesian Dr Edwin Jurriens +61 3 9035 7594 edwin.jurriens@unimelb.edu.au
Islamic Studies Prof Abdullah Saeed +61 3 8344 6861 a.saeed@unimelb.edu.au
Japanese Dr Jun Ohashi +61 3 8344 4263 juno@unimelb.edu.au

School of Culture and Communication

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Art History (Undergraduate) Dr Anthony White +61 3 8344 3408 a.white@unimelb.edu.au
Art History (Postgraduate) Dr Christiaan De Beukelaer +61 3 9035 7309 christiaan.debeukelaer@unimelb.edu.au
Australian Indigenous Studies Ms Genevieve Grieves +61 3 8344 3421 ggrieves@unimelb.edu.au
Creative Writing Dr Maria Tumarkin +61 3 8344 9727 m.tumarkin@unimelb.edu.au
English and Theatre Studies
Note: Contact Professor Gelder before submitting your overseas study plan. Only subjects taught and assessed in English will be considered.
Prof Ken Gelder +61 3 8344 5485 kdgelder@unimelb.edu.au
Gender Studies A/Prof Tamara Kohn +61 3 8344 6676 tkohn@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Arts and Cultural Management Dr Christiaan De Beukelaer +61 3 9035 3709 christiaan.debeukelaer@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Journalism Dr Denis Muller +61 3 8344 9439 dmuller@unimelb.edu.au
Media and Communication (Undergraduate) Dr Björn Nansen +61 3 8344 9122 nansenb@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Global Media Communications Prof Ingrid Volkmer +61 3 8344 3500 ivolkmer@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Marketing Communications
Note: Contact Dr Beckett before submitting your overseas study plan.
Dr Jennifer Beckett +61 3 8344 5293 jennifer.beckett@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Creative Writing, Publishing and Editing Dr Amanda Johnson +61 3 8344 7274 amandaj@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Publishing and Communications A/Prof Mark Davis +61 3 8344 3349 davismr@unimelb.edu.au
Screen and Cultural Studies Dr Alison Horbury +61 3 9035 7818 alison.horbury@unimelb.edu.au

Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Executive Master of Arts A/Prof Sara Wills +61 3 8344 9975 s.wills@unimelb.edu.au

School of Historical and Philosophical Studies

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Ancient World Studies and Archaeology Dr Andrew Jamieson +61 3 8344 3403 asj@unimelb.edu.au
Australian Studies Dr Sean Scalmer +61 3 8344 5957 sscalmer@unimelb.edu.au
Classics Dr K.O. Chong-Gossard +61 3 8344 4078 koc@unimelb.edu.au
Hebrew and Jewish Studies Dr Dvir Abramovich +61 3 8344 3789 dvir@unimelb.edu.au
History Prof David Goodman +61 3 8344 7859 d.goodman@unimelb.edu.au
History and Philosophy of Science Dr James Bradley +61 3 8344 3851 jbradley@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Cultural Materials Conservation Dr Nicole Tse +61 3 8344 0354 nicoleat@unimelb.edu.au
Philosophy Dr Francois Schroeter +61 3 8344 8169 fschro@unimelb.edu.au

School of Languages and Linguistics

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
European Studies Dr Andrew McGregor +61 3 8344 8119 ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
FrenchAdvisor List (PDF, 104KB)
German
Note: Contact Dr Kretzenbacher before submitting your overseas study plan.
Dr Leo Kretzenbacher +61 3 8344 5209 heinz@unimelb.edu.au
Latin American Studies Dr Claudia Sandberg +61 3 8344 8567 claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Italian Dr Matthew Absalom +61 3 8344 6986 mabsalom@unimelb.edu.au
Linguistics & Applied Linguistics Dr Barbara Kelly +61 3 8344 8986 b.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
Russian Dr Robert Lagerberg +61 3 8344 5187 robertjl@unimelb.edu.au
Spanish Dr Claudia Sandberg +61 3 8344 8567 claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au

School of Social and Political Sciences

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Anthropology Prof Andy Dawson +61 3 8344 4201 dawsona@unimelb.edu.au
Criminology Dr Diana Johns +61 3 8344 5394 diana.johns@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Criminology Prof Alison Young +61 3 8344 6569 ayoung@unimelb.edu.au
Development Studies (Undergraduate) Prof Andrew Dawson+61 3 8344 4201 dawsona@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Development Studies Dr Vicki Schubert+61 3 8344 5089violetas@unimelb.edu.au
Master of International Relations Dr Sow Keat Tok +61 3 9035 8333sowkeat.tok@unimelb.edu.au
International Studies Dr Pradeep Taneja +61 3 8344 6585 ptaneja@unimelb.edu.au
Political Science (including International Politics) and Public Policy Dr Pradeep Taneja +61 3 8344 6585 ptaneja@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Public Administration Prof Janine O'Flynn +61 3 9035 9526 janine.oflynn@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Public Policy and Management Dr Scott Brenton +61 3 9035 8001 sbrenton@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Social Policy Dr Leah Ruppanner  leah.ruppanner@unimelb.edu.au
Social Theory Dr Max Holleran +61 3 8344 9771 max.holleran@unimelb.edu.au
Socio-Legal Studies Dr Diana Johns +61 3 8344 5394 diana.johns@unimelb.edu.au
Sociology Dr Max Holleran +61 3 8344 9771 max.holleran@unimelb.edu.au

Inter-Faculty Disciplines

School of Geography, Science

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Geography Dr Brian Cook +61 3 9035 8370 brian.cook@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences, MDHS

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Psychological Sciences See the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

Social Work, Melbourne School of Health Sciences, MDHS

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Master of Social Work Ms Judy Wookey +61 3 9035 3681 jwookey@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Advanced Social Work A/Prof Lynette Joubert +61 3 8344 9417 ljoubert@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Arts
A/Prof Parshia Lee-Stecum
artsexchange-breadth@unimelb.edu.au

For overseas study advice related to the Faculty of Business and Economics, please contact Stop 1.

Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameEmail
Architecture Prof Donald Bates donald.bates@unimelb.edu.au
Construction Management
Note:
 Contact Dr Doloi before submitting your overseas study plan.
Dr Hemanta Doloi hdoloi@unimelb.edu.au
Design Prof Philip Goad p.goad@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape Architecture Dr Andrew Saniga ajsaniga@unimelb.edu.au
Property

Prof Piyush Tiwari

piyush.tiwari@unimelb.edu.au
Urban Design Prof Alan Pert alan.pert@unimelb.edu.au
Urban Planning Dr John Stone stoneja@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Design
A/Prof Alan March
environments-design@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Adviser

Ms Clair Richards
Scholarships and Student Enrichment Officer
+61 3 9035 5079
mgse-experience@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Advisers

Note: If you are seeking approval for a 'systems' subject, please refer to the Discipline Advisers listed for the relevant Systems department under the Faculty of Science (e.g. Bioengineering Systems, Chemical Systems).

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Biomedical Engineering Dr Leigh Johnston +61 3 8344 1940 l.johnston@unimelb.edu.au
Biomolecular Engineering Dr Gabriel Da Silva +61 3 8344 6627 gdasilva@unimelb.edu.au
Chemical Engineering Dr Liyuan Fan +61 3 8344 5881 liyuan.fan@unimelb.edu.au
Civil and Structural Engineering A/Prof Guillermo Narsilio +61 3 8344 4659 narsilio@unimelb.edu.au
Electrical Engineering A/Prof Brian Krongold +61 3 8344 3812 bsk@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Engineering Prof Q.J. Wang +61 3 8344 9781 quan.wang@unimelb.edu.au
Geomatics Cliff Ogleby +61 3 8344 6754 clogleby@unimelb.edu.au
Information Systems Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Information Technology Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Mechanical Engineering and Mechatronics Dr Yi Yang +61 3 8344 8104 yi.yang@unimelb.edu.au
Software Engineering Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Adviser

Mr Dorian Collard
Graduate Services Coordinator (International Experience), Graduate Services and Careers
+61 3 8344 5651
law-global@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Advisers

Melbourne Dental School

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Dentistry Ms Annette Bird +61 3 9341 1508 albird@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne School of Health Sciences

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Nursing Dr Zerina Tomkins +61 3 8344 4511 lokmicz@unimelb.edu.au
Physiotherapy Dr Karen Donald +61 3 8344 5300 karen.donald@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Social Work Ms Lis de Vries +61 3 9035 6719 lisd@unimelb.edu.au
Masters of Social Work (Placements) Ms Jane Stanley +61 3 8344 0480 jane.stanley@unimelb.edu.au
Masters of Advanced Social Work A/Prof Lynette Joubert +61 3 8344 9417 ljoubert@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne School of Biomedical Sciences

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Anatomy A/Prof Jenny Hayes +61 3 8344 5778 j.hayes@unimelb.edu.auu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Dr Amber Willems-Jones +61 3 8344 7210 amber.willems@unimelb.edu.au
Cell and Developmental Biology A/Prof Robb De Iongh +61 3 8344 5788 r.deiongh@unimelb.edu.au
Microbiology and Immunology Dr Karena Waller +61 3 8344 0045 klwaller@unimelb.edu.au
Neuroscience Dr Peter Kitchener +61 3 8344 6746 p.kitchener@unimelb.edu.au
Pathology Dr Vicki Lawson +61 3 8344 4049 v.lawson@unimelb.edu.au
Pharmacology Dr Michael Lew +61 3 8344 7812 michaell@unimelb.edu.au
Physiology Dr Charles Sevigny +61 3 8344 9791 sevignyc@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne Medical School

Please submit an enquiry to Stop 1, following the steps below:

  1. Under 'Current Students', select 'Submit an enquiry'.
  2. Label your enquiry clearly and include your student ID under 'Enquiry title'.
  3. Under 'Topic', select 'Overseas Study > Course advice for overseas study'.

Melbourne School of Population Health

Note: Undergraduate students seeking approval for Public Health and related subjects should contact the Program Director for their degree.

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Master of Biostatistics A/Prof Julie Simpson +61 3 8344 0732 julieas@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Population Health Dr Melissa Russell +61 3 8344 0736 melissar@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Science (Epidemiology) Prof Dallas English +61 3 8344 0742 d.english@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences

Email: StudyAbroadExchange-psych@unimelb.edu.au

Psychological Sciences Mobility Guide (PDF, 102KB)


Program Directors

Bachelor of Biomedicine
Prof David Williams
biomedicine-breadth@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Oral Health
A/Prof Julie Satur
juliegs@unimelb.edu.au

Undergraduate Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Bioengineering Systems Dr Leigh Johnston +61 3 8344 1940 l.johnston@unimelb.edu.au
Biology A/Prof Dawn Gleeson +61 3 8344 4765 d.gleeson@unimelb.edu.au
Botany Dr Andrew Drinnan +61 3 8344 5252 and@unimelb.edu.au
Chemical Systems Dr Liyuan Fan +61 3 8344 5881 liyuan.fan@unimelb.edu.au
Chemistry A/Prof Spas Kolev +61 3 8344 7931 s.kolev@unimelb.edu.au
Civil Systems A/Prof Guillermo Narsilio +61 3 8344 4659 narsilio@unimelb.edu.au
Computer Science Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Earth Science A/Prof Stephen Gallagher +61 3 8344 6513 sjgall@unimelb.edu.au
Electrical Systems A/Prof Brian Krongold +61 3 8344 3812 bsk@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Horticulture Dr Denise Johnstone +61 3 9250 6847 denisej@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Geography A/Prof Peter Christoff +61 3 8344 0805 peterac@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Science Prof Mick Keough +61 3 8344 5130 mjkeough@unimelb.edu.au
Ecosystem and Forest Sciences Mr Chris Weston +61 3 5321 4103 weston@unimelb.edu.au
Genetics A/Prof Philip Batterham +61 3 8344 2363 p.batterham@unimelb.edu.au
Geography A/Prof Peter Christoff +61 3 8344 0805 peterac@unimelb.edu.au
Geomatics Mr Cliff Ogleby +61 3 8344 6754 clogleby@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape Management Dr Antanas Spokevicius +61 3 5321 4153 avjs@unimelb.edu.au
Mathematics (Maths and Statistics) Dr Craig Hodgson +61 3 8344 5553 craigdh@unimelb.edu.au
Statistics (Maths & Statistics) Dr Guoqi Qian +61 3 8344 4899 qguoqi@unimelb.edu.au
Mechanical Systems Dr Yi Yang +61 3 8344 8104 yi.yang@unimelb.edu.au
Physics Dr Christian Reichardt +61 3 8344 1436 christian.reichardt@unimelb.edu.au
Software Systems Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Zoology Dr Steve Swearer +61 3 8344 6253 sswearer@unimelb.edu.au

Agriculture, Agricultural Science, Animal Science and Management, and Food Science

See the Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences.

Anatomy, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Microbiology & Immunology, Psychological Sciences, Pathology, Pharmacology, and Physiology

See the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences.

Information systems

See the Melbourne School of Engineering.


Undergraduate Program Director

Bachelor of Science
A/Prof Michelle Livett
science-saexapprovals@unimelb.edu.au


Graduate Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Biology A/Prof Dawn Gleeson +61 3 8344 4765 d.gleeson@unimelb.edu.au
BiotechnologyDr Matthew Digby+61 3 8344 6249mdigby@unimelb.edu.au
Botany Dr Andrew Drinnan +61 3 8344 5252 and@unimelb.edu.au
Chemistry A/Prof Spas Kolev +61 3 8344 7931 s.kolev@unimelb.edu.au
Computer Science Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Earth Science A/Prof. Stephen Gallagher +61 3 8344 6513 sjgall@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Horticulture Dr Denise Johnstone +61 3 9250 6847 denisej@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Geography A/Prof Peter Christoff +61 3 8344 0805 peterac@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Science Prof Mick Keough +61 3 8344 5130 mjkeough@unimelb.edu.au
Forest Ecosystem Science Mr Chris Weston +61 3 5321 4103 weston@unimelb.edu.au
Genetics A/Prof Philip Batterham +61 3 8344 2363 p.batterham@genetics.unimelb.edu.au
Geography A/Prof. Peter Christoff +61 3 8344 0805 peterac@unimelb.edu.au
Geomatics Mr Cliff Ogleby +61 3 8344 6754 clogleby@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape Management Dr Antanas Spokevicius +61 3 5321 4153 avjs@unimelb.edu.au
Mathematics (Maths & Statistics) Dr Craig Hodgson +61 3 8344 5553 craigdh@unimelb.edu.au
Statistics (Maths & Statistics) Dr Guoqi Qian +61 3 8344 4899 qguoqi@unimelb.edu.au
Office of Environmental Programs (OEP) A/Prof David Kennedy +61 3 8344 9168 query-environment@unimelb.edu.au
Physics A/Prof Jeff McCallum +61 3 8344 8072 jeffreym@unimelb.edu.au
Urban Horticulture Dr Nick Williams +61 3 9035 6850 nsw@unimelb.edu.au
Zoology Dr Steve Swearer +61 3 8344 6253 sswearer@unimelb.edu.au

Agriculture, Agricultural Science, Animal Science, and Food Science

See the Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences.

Anatomy, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Epidemiology, Microbiology & Immunology, Neuroscience, Pathology, Pharmacology, and Physiology

See the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences.

Information Systems

See the Melbourne School of Engineering.

Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Art Ms Sanja Pahoki +61 3 9035 9483srpahoki@unimelb.edu.au
Dance A/Prof Jenny Kinder +61 3 9035 9227 jenny.kinder@unimelb.edu.au
Film and Television Mr Andrew O'Keefe +61 3 9035 9062 okeefea@unimelb.edu.au
Music A/Prof Robert Nairn +61 3 8344 1437 robert.nairn@unimelb.edu.au
Production Mr Leon Salom +61 3 9035 9286 leon.salom@unimelb.edu.au
Theatre Mr Tony Smith

+61 3 9035 9243

tonys@unimelb.edu.au

Program Directors

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Animation), Bachelor of Fine Arts (Film and Television) and Bachelor of Fine Arts (Screenwriting)
Mr Andrew O'Keefe
okeefea@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Dance)
A/Prof Jenny Kinder
jenny.kinder@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Music Theatre)
Ms Margot Fenley
mfenley@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Production)
Mr Leon Salom
leon.salom@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Theatre Practice)
Mr Matthew Delbridge
matthew.delbridge@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Visual Art)
Dr Simone Slee
sleesa@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Music
A/Prof Melanie Plesch
music-breadth@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
AgribusinessMr Ian Bland +61 3 8344 5253ibland@unimelb.edu.au
Agriculture (Sustainable Production) Ms Ros Gall +61 3 5833 9226 rosgall@unimelb.edu.au
Agriculture (Production Animal Health) Ms Ros Gall +61 3 5833 9226rosgall@unimelb.edu.au
Agricultural Science
(Undergraduate)
Ms Ros Gall +61 3 5833 9226 rosgall@unimelb.edu.au
Agricultural Science
(Graduate)
Dr Ian Bland +61 3 8344 5253 ibland@unimelb.edu.au
Animal Science and Management Dr Ian Bland +61 3 8344 5253 ibland@unimelb.edu.au
Food Packaging and Innovation Ms Julia Steenkamp None julia.steenkamp@unimelb.edu.au
Food Science
(Undergraduate)
Dr Kate Howell +61 3 9035 3119 khowell@unimelb.edu.au
Food Science
(Graduate)
Dr Ken Ng +61 3 9035 3141 ngkf@unimelb.edu.au
Veterinary Medicine Alana Marriner +61 3 8344 7337vet-extramurals@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Agriculture
Ms Ros Gall
rosgall@unimelb.edu.au


To request a change to this page, please contact global-mobility@unimelb.edu.au.