Discipline Advisers and Program Directors - Section contents

Find contact details for Program Directors and Discipline Advisers at your faculty or graduate school.

If you would like to consult with someone while planning subjects for overseas study, please book course planning appointment at Stop 1.

If, after attending an appointment, you are still seeking more subject-specific advice, we advise you contact the right person in your faculty.

  • Discipline Advisers can give advice about major, minor or diploma subject options.
  • Program Directors can give advice about breadth and non-specific elective subjects which do not lead to a major or minor.

Note: You should only contact Advisers or Directors from your faculty and department.

Discipline Advisers - Bachelor of Design

MajorNameDepartmentEmail
ArchitectureDr Janet McGawArchitecture, Building and Planningmcgawjk@unimelb.edu.au
Civil (Engineering) SystemsA/Prof Guillermo NarsilioInfrastructure Engineeringnarsilio@unimelb.edu.au
ComputingDr Nicholas GeardComputing and Information Systemsnicholas.geard@unimelb.edu.au
ConstructionDr Andrew MartelArchitecture, Building and Planningaamartel@unimelb.edu.au
Digital TechnologiesA/Prof Wally SmithComputing and Information Systemswsmith@unimelb.edu.au
Graphic DesignMs Amanda MorganFine Arts and Musicamanda.morgan1@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape ArchitectureDr Siqing ChenArchitecture, Building & Planningchens@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape ManagementSee the Faculty of Science
Mechanical (Engineering) SystemsProf Jason MontyMechanical Engineeringmontyjp@unimelb.edu.au
Performance DesignA/Prof Richard RobertsFine Arts and Musiccaleb.roberts@unimelb.edu.au
PropertyDr Dermot McGeownArchitecture, Building & Planningdmcgeown@unimelb.edu.au
Spatial SystemsMr Cliff OglebySpatialclogleby@unimelb.edu.auu
Urban PlanningDr Derlie Mateo-BabianoArchitecture, Building and Planningimateo@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Design
Professor Alan March
environments-design@unimelb.edu.au


Discipline Advisers - Bachelor of Environments

MajorNameDepartmentEmail
ArchitectureDr Janet McGawArchitecture, Building and Planningmcgawjk@unimelb.edu.au
Civil (Engineering) SystemsA/Prof Guillermo NarsilioInfrastructure Engineeringnarsilio@unimelb.edu.au
ConstructionDr Andrew MartelArchitecture, Building and Planningaamartel@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Geographies, Politics and CulturesA/Prof Peter ChristoffResource Management and Geographypeterac@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental ScienceA/Prof Peter VeskBiosciencespvesk@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape ArchitectureDr Siqing ChenArchitecture, Building & Planningchens@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape ManagementSee the Faculty of Science
Physical (Environmental Engineering) SystemsA/Prof Guillermo NarsilioInfrastructure Engineeringnarsilio@unimelb.edu.au
PropertyDr Dermot McGeownArchitecture, Building & Planningdmcgeown@unimelb.edu.au
Spatial SystemsMr Cliff OglebySpatialclogleby@unimelb.edu.auu
Urban Planning and DesignDr Derlie Mateo-BabianoArchitecture, Building and Planningimateo@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Environments
A/Prof Andrew Hutson
environments-design@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Advisers

Asia Institute

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
ArabicDr Christina Mayer+61 3 9035 4223cmayer@unimelb.edu.au
Asian StudiesDr Michael Ewing+61 3 9035 5552asianstudies-exchange@unimelb.edu.au
ChineseDr Shaoming Zhou+61 3 8344 5393shaoming@unimelb.edu.au
IndonesianDr Edwin Jurriens+61 3 9035 7594edwin.jurriens@unimelb.edu.au
Islamic StudiesProf Abdullah Saeed+61 3 8344 6861a.saeed@unimelb.edu.au
JapaneseDr Etsuko Toyoda+61 3 8344 5463etsuko@unimelb.edu.au

School of Culture and Communication

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Art History (Undergraduate)Dr Mark Erdmann+61 3 8344 4305merdmann@unimelb.edu.au
Art History (Postgraduate)Dr Christiaan De Beukelaer+61 3 9035 7309christiaan.debeukelaer@unimelb.edu.au
Australian Indigenous StudiesProfessor Paul Tapsell+61 3 8344 3481paul.tapsell@unimelb.edu.au
Creative WritingDr Radha O’Meara+61 3 8344 5378radha.omeara@unimelb.edu.au
English and Theatre Studies
Note: Contact A/Professor Rae before submitting your overseas study plan. Only subjects taught and assessed in English will be considered.
A/Prof Paul Rae+61 3 8344 1676paul.rae@unimelb.edu.au
Gender StudiesDr Ana Dragojlovic+61 3 8344 9039ana.dragojlovic@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Arts and Cultural ManagementDr Christiaan De Beukelaer+61 3 9035 3709christiaan.debeukelaer@unimelb.edu.au
Master of JournalismDr Denis Muller+61 3 8344 9439dmuller@unimelb.edu.au
Media and Communication (Undergraduate)Dr Kyujin Shim+61 3 8344 6719kyujin.shim@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Global Media CommunicationsProf Ingrid Volkmer+61 3 8344 3500ivolkmer@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Marketing Communications
Note: Contact Dr Beckett before submitting your overseas study plan.
Dr Jennifer Beckett+61 3 8344 5293jennifer.beckett@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Creative Writing, Publishing and EditingDr Amanda Johnson+61 3 8344 7274amandaj@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Publishing and CommunicationsDr Sybil Nolan+61 3 8344 7398sybil.nolan@unimelb.edu.au
Screen and Cultural StudiesDr Alison Horbury+61 3 9035 7818alison.horbury@unimelb.edu.au

Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Executive Master of ArtsA/Prof Sara Wills+61 3 8344 9975s.wills@unimelb.edu.au

School of Historical and Philosophical Studies

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Ancient World Studies and ArchaeologyDr Andrew Jamieson+61 3 8344 3403asj@unimelb.edu.au
Australian StudiesDr Sean Scalmer+61 3 8344 5957sscalmer@unimelb.edu.au
ClassicsDr K.O. Chong-Gossard+61 3 8344 4078koc@unimelb.edu.au
Hebrew and Jewish StudiesDr Dvir Abramovich+61 3 8344 3789dvir@unimelb.edu.au
HistoryProf David Goodman+61 3 8344 7859d.goodman@unimelb.edu.au
History and Philosophy of ScienceDr James Bradley+61 3 8344 3851jbradley@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Cultural Materials ConservationDr Nicole Tse+61 3 8344 0354nicoleat@unimelb.edu.au
PhilosophyDr Francois Schroeter+61 3 8344 8169fschro@unimelb.edu.au

School of Languages and Linguistics

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
European StudiesDr Andrew McGregor+61 3 8344 8119ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
FrenchAdvisor List (PDF, 104KB)
German
Note: Contact Dr Kretzenbacher before submitting your overseas study plan.
Dr Leo Kretzenbacher+61 3 8344 5209heinz@unimelb.edu.au
Latin American StudiesDr Mara Favoretto+61 3 8344 5183mara.f@unimelb.edu.au
ItalianDr Matthew Absalom+61 3 8344 6986mabsalom@unimelb.edu.au
Linguistics & Applied LinguisticsDr Barbara Kelly+61 3 8344 8986b.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
RussianDr Robert Lagerberg+61 3 8344 5187robertjl@unimelb.edu.au
SpanishDr Mara Favoretto+61 3 8344 5183mara.f@unimelb.edu.au

School of Social and Political Sciences

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Anthropology Dr Debra McDougall+61 3 8344 5648debra.mcdougall@unimelb.edu.au
CriminologyDr Diana Johns+61 3 8344 5394diana.johns@unimelb.edu.au
Master of CriminologyDr Nesam McMillan+61 3 8344 3484nesamcm@unimelb.edu.au
Development Studies (Undergraduate)Dr Debra McDougall+61 3 8344 5648debra.mcdougall@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Development StudiesDr Lan Anh Hoang+61 3 8344 4610lahoang@unimelb.edu.au
Master of International RelationsProf Andrew Walter+61 3 9035 9633andrew.walter@unimelb.edu.au
International StudiesDr Lauren Rosewarne+61 3 8344 6820lrose@unimelb.edu.au
Political Science (including International Politics) and Public PolicyDr Lauren Rosewarne+61 3 8344 6820lrose@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Public AdministrationSee the Melbourne Law School
Master of Public Policy and Management Dr Scott Brenton+61 3 9035 8001sbrenton@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Social PolicyA/Prof Leah Ruppanner+61 3 9035 7454leah.ruppanner@unimelb.edu.au
Social TheoryDr Liz Dean+61 3 9035 3416ldean@unimelb.edu.au
Socio-Legal StudiesDr Diana Johns+61 3 8344 5394diana.johns@unimelb.edu.au
SociologyDr Liz Dean+61 3 9035 3416ldean@unimelb.edu.au

Inter-Faculty Disciplines

School of Geography, Science

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
GeographyDr Brian Cook+61 3 9035 8370brian.cook@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences, MDHS

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Psychological SciencesSee the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

Social Work, Melbourne School of Health Sciences, MDHS

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Master of Social WorkMs Judi Brewster+61 3 9035 3702judi.brewster@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Advanced Social WorkA/Prof Lynette Joubert+61 3 8344 9417ljoubert@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Arts
Dr. Wendy Haslem
artsexchange-breadth@unimelb.edu.au

For overseas study advice related to the Faculty of Business and Economics, please contact Stop 1.

Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameEmail
ArchitectureProf Donald Batesdonald.bates@unimelb.edu.au
Construction Management
Note:
 Contact Dr Doloi before submitting your overseas study plan.
Dr Hemanta Doloihdoloi@unimelb.edu.au
DesignProf Philip Goadp.goad@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape ArchitectureDr Sidh Sintusinghassint@unimelb.edu.au
Property

Prof Piyush Tiwari

piyush.tiwari@unimelb.edu.au
Urban DesignProf Alan Pertalan.pert@unimelb.edu.au
Urban PlanningDr John Stonestoneja@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Design
A/Prof Alan March
environments-design@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Adviser

Ms Clair Richards
Scholarships and Student Enrichment Officer
+61 3 9035 5079
mgse-experience@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Advisers

Note: If you are seeking approval for a 'systems' subject, please refer to the Discipline Advisers listed for the relevant Systems department under the Faculty of Science (e.g. Bioengineering Systems, Chemical Systems).

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Biomedical Engineering Dr Leigh Johnston +61 3 8344 1940 l.johnston@unimelb.edu.au
Biomolecular Engineering Dr Gabriel Da Silva +61 3 8344 6627 gdasilva@unimelb.edu.au
Chemical Engineering Dr Liyuan Fan +61 3 8344 5881 liyuan.fan@unimelb.edu.au
Civil and Structural Engineering A/Prof Guillermo Narsilio +61 3 8344 4659 narsilio@unimelb.edu.au
Electrical Engineering A/Prof Brian Krongold +61 3 8344 3812 bsk@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental Engineering Prof Q.J. Wang +61 3 8344 9781 quan.wang@unimelb.edu.au
GeomaticsMr Cliff Ogleby +61 3 8344 6754 clogleby@unimelb.edu.au
Information Systems Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Information Technology Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Mechanical Engineering and Mechatronics Dr Yi Yang +61 3 8344 8104 yi.yang@unimelb.edu.au
Software Engineering Dr Jorge Goncalves +61 3 8344 1338 jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Spatial EngineeringDr Mohsen Kalantari Soltanieh+61 3 8344 0274mohsen.kalantari@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
ArtDr Raafat Ishak+61 3 9035 7871raafat@unimelb.edu.au
DanceA/Prof Jenny Kinder+61 3 9035 9227jenny.kinder@unimelb.edu.au
Film and TelevisionMr Adrian Holmes+61 3 9035 9021apholmes@unimelb.edu.au
MusicA/Prof Robert Nairn+61 3 8344 1437robert.nairn@unimelb.edu.au
ProductionMr Leon Salom+61 3 9035 9286leon.salom@unimelb.edu.au
TheatreMr Tony Smith

+61 3 9035 9243

tonys@unimelb.edu.au

Program Directors

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Animation), Bachelor of Fine Arts (Film and Television) and Bachelor of Fine Arts (Screenwriting)
Mr Andrew O'Keefe
okeefea@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Dance)
A/Prof Jenny Kinder
jenny.kinder@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Music Theatre)
Ms Margot Fenley
mfenley@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Production)
Mr Leon Salom
leon.salom@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Theatre Practice)
Mr Matthew Delbridge
matthew.delbridge@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Visual Art)
Dr Simone Slee
sleesa@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Music
A/Prof Melanie Plesch
music-breadth@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Adviser

Mr Dorian Collard
Graduate Services Coordinator (International Experience), Graduate Services and Careers
+61 3 8344 5651
law-global@unimelb.edu.au

Discipline Advisers

Melbourne Dental School

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
DentistryMs Cassie Kearns+61 3 9341 1507dental-office@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne School of Health Sciences

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
NursingDr Zerina Tomkins+61 3 8344 4511lokmicz@unimelb.edu.au
PhysiotherapyDr Karen Donald+61 3 8344 5300karen.donald@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Social WorkMs Judi Brewster+61 3 9035 3702judi.brewster@unimelb.edu.au
Masters of Social Work (Placements)Ms Jane Stanley+61 3 8344 0480jane.stanley@unimelb.edu.au
Masters of Advanced Social WorkA/Prof Lynette Joubert+61 3 8344 9417ljoubert@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne School of Biomedical Sciences

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
AnatomyA/Prof Jenny Hayes+61 3 8344 5778j.hayes@unimelb.edu.auu
Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyDr Amber Willems-Jones+61 3 8344 7210amber.willems@unimelb.edu.au
Cell and Developmental BiologyA/Prof Robb De Iongh+61 3 8344 5788r.deiongh@unimelb.edu.au
Microbiology and ImmunologyDr Karena Waller+61 3 8344 0045klwaller@unimelb.edu.au
NeuroscienceDr Peter Kitchener+61 3 8344 6746p.kitchener@unimelb.edu.au
PathologyDr Vicki Lawson+61 3 8344 4049v.lawson@unimelb.edu.au
PharmacologyDr Michael Lew+61 3 8344 7812michaell@unimelb.edu.au
PhysiologyDr Charles Sevigny+61 3 8344 9791sevignyc@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne Medical School

Please submit an enquiry to Stop 1, following the steps below:

  1. Under 'Current Students', select 'Submit an enquiry'.
  2. Label your enquiry clearly and include your student ID under 'Enquiry title'.
  3. Under 'Topic', select 'Overseas Study > Course advice for overseas study'.

Melbourne School of Population Health

Note: Undergraduate students seeking approval for Public Health and related subjects should contact the Program Director for their degree.

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Master of BiostatisticsA/Prof Julie Simpson+61 3 8344 0732julieas@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Population HealthDr Melissa Russell+61 3 8344 0736melissar@unimelb.edu.au
Master of Science (Epidemiology)Prof Dallas English+61 3 8344 0742d.english@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences

Email: StudyAbroadExchange-psych@unimelb.edu.au

Psychological Sciences Mobility Guide (PDF, 102KB)


Program Directors

Bachelor of Biomedicine
Prof David Williams
biomedicine-breadth@unimelb.edu.au

Bachelor of Oral Health
A/Prof Julie Satur
juliegs@unimelb.edu.au

Undergraduate Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
Bioengineering SystemsDr Leigh Johnston+61 3 8344 1940l.johnston@unimelb.edu.au
BiologyA/Prof Dawn Gleeson+61 3 8344 4765d.gleeson@unimelb.edu.au
BotanyDr Andrew Drinnan+61 3 8344 5252and@unimelb.edu.au
Chemical SystemsDr Liyuan Fan+61 3 8344 5881liyuan.fan@unimelb.edu.au
ChemistryA/Prof Spas Kolev+61 3 8344 7931s.kolev@unimelb.edu.au
Civil SystemsA/Prof Guillermo Narsilio+61 3 8344 4659narsilio@unimelb.edu.au
Computer ScienceDr Jorge Goncalves+61 3 8344 1338jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Earth ScienceA/Prof Stephen Gallagher+61 3 8344 6513sjgall@unimelb.edu.au
Electrical SystemsA/Prof Brian Krongold+61 3 8344 3812bsk@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental HorticultureDr Denise Johnstone+61 3 9250 6847denisej@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental GeographyA/Prof Peter Christoff+61 3 8344 0805peterac@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental ScienceA/Prof Peter Vesk    +61 3 8344 7480pvesk@unimelb.edu.au
Ecosystem and Forest SciencesMr Chris Weston+61 3 5321 4103weston@unimelb.edu.au
GeneticsA/Prof Philip Batterham+61 3 8344 2363p.batterham@unimelb.edu.au
GeographyA/Prof Peter Christoff+61 3 8344 0805peterac@unimelb.edu.au
GeomaticsMr Cliff Ogleby+61 3 8344 6754clogleby@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape ManagementDr Antanas Spokevicius+61 3 5321 4153avjs@unimelb.edu.au
Mathematics (Maths and Statistics)Dr Charl Ras+61 3 9035 8877cjras@unimelb.edu.au
Statistics (Maths and Statistics)Dr Guoqi Qian+61 3 8344 4899qguoqi@unimelb.edu.au
Mechanical SystemsDr Yi Yang+61 3 8344 8104yi.yang@unimelb.edu.au
PhysicsDr Christian Reichardt+61 3 8344 1436christian.reichardt@unimelb.edu.au
Software SystemsDr Jorge Goncalves+61 3 8344 1338jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
ZoologyDr Steve Swearer+61 3 8344 6253sswearer@unimelb.edu.au

Agriculture, Agricultural Science, Animal Science and Management, and Food Science

See the Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences.

Anatomy, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Microbiology & Immunology, Psychological Sciences, Pathology, Pharmacology, and Physiology

See the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences.

Information systems

See the Melbourne School of Engineering.


Undergraduate Program Director

Bachelor of Science
A/Prof Deborah King
science-saexapprovals@unimelb.edu.au


Graduate Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
BiologyA/Prof Dawn Gleeson+61 3 8344 4765d.gleeson@unimelb.edu.au
BiotechnologyDr Matthew Digby+61 3 8344 6249mdigby@unimelb.edu.au
BotanyDr Andrew Drinnan+61 3 8344 5252and@unimelb.edu.au
ChemistryA/Prof Spas Kolev+61 3 8344 7931s.kolev@unimelb.edu.au
Computer ScienceDr Jorge Goncalves+61 3 8344 1338jorge.goncalves@unimelb.edu.au
Earth ScienceA/Prof. Stephen Gallagher+61 3 8344 6513sjgall@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental HorticultureDr Denise Johnstone+61 3 9250 6847denisej@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental GeographyA/Prof Peter Christoff+61 3 8344 0805peterac@unimelb.edu.au
Environmental ScienceDr Robyn Schofield+61 3 8344 1661     robyn.schofield@unimelb.edu.au
Forest Ecosystem ScienceMr Chris Weston+61 3 5321 4103weston@unimelb.edu.au
GeneticsA/Prof Philip Batterham+61 3 8344 2363p.batterham@genetics.unimelb.edu.au
GeographyA/Prof. Peter Christoff+61 3 8344 0805peterac@unimelb.edu.au
GeomaticsMr Cliff Ogleby+61 3 8344 6754clogleby@unimelb.edu.au
Landscape ManagementDr Antanas Spokevicius+61 3 5321 4153avjs@unimelb.edu.au
Mathematics (Maths and Statistics)Dr Charl Ras+61 3 9035 8877cjras@unimelb.edu.au
Statistics (Maths and Statistics)Dr Guoqi Qian+61 3 8344 4899qguoqi@unimelb.edu.au
Office of Environmental Programs (OEP)A/Prof David Kennedy+61 3 8344 9168query-environment@unimelb.edu.au
PhysicsA/Prof Jeff McCallum+61 3 8344 8072jeffreym@unimelb.edu.au
Urban HorticultureDr Nick Williams+61 3 9035 6850nsw@unimelb.edu.au
ZoologyDr Steve Swearer+61 3 8344 6253sswearer@unimelb.edu.au

Agriculture, Agricultural Science, Animal Science, and Food Science

See the Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences.

Anatomy, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Epidemiology, Microbiology & Immunology, Neuroscience, Pathology, Pharmacology, and Physiology

See the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences.

Information Systems

See the Melbourne School of Engineering.

Discipline Advisers

DepartmentNameTelephoneEmail
AgribusinessMr Ian Bland+61 3 8344 5253ibland@unimelb.edu.au
Agriculture (Sustainable Production)Ms Ros Gall+61 3 5833 9226rosgall@unimelb.edu.au
Agriculture (Production Animal Health)Ms Ros Gall+61 3 5833 9226rosgall@unimelb.edu.au
Agricultural Science
(Undergraduate)
Ms Ros Gall+61 3 5833 9226rosgall@unimelb.edu.au
Agricultural Science
(Graduate)
Dr Ian Bland+61 3 8344 5253ibland@unimelb.edu.au
Animal Science and ManagementDr Ian Bland+61 3 8344 5253ibland@unimelb.edu.au
Food Packaging and InnovationMs Julia SteenkampNonejulia.steenkamp@unimelb.edu.au
Food Science
(Undergraduate)
Dr Kate Howell+61 3 9035 3119khowell@unimelb.edu.au
Food Science
(Graduate)
Dr Ken Ng+61 3 9035 3141ngkf@unimelb.edu.au
Veterinary MedicineMs Alana Marriner+61 3 8344 7337vet-extramurals@unimelb.edu.au

Program Director

Bachelor of Agriculture
Ms Ros Gall
rosgall@unimelb.edu.au


To request a change to this page, please contact global-mobility@unimelb.edu.au.